h1

Houston Texans Recognize Schindewolf Teacher

August 30, 2011

Special education student and family praise Klein ISD educator

 

Spring, Texas  “…My mom tells me that I have the best teacher in the whole wide world. Even with all my disabilities, Ms. Heather makes me feel like I am perfect. She treats me with respect, shows me love, and most of all accepts me for the little boy that I am.”

This letter written on behalf of special needs student Jonathan Charo made the Houston Texans and First Community Credit Union (FCCU) take notice. Being non-verbal is one of Jonathan’s many limitations, prompting
his mother to submit nomination for him. The letter resulted in Schindewolf Intermediate special education teacher Heather Williams being selected as a “Star in the Classroom”. Only in her third year teaching in Klein ISD, Williams was surprised when she heard the news.

“I was in shock. It was a true honor, and to know that a parent nominated me on behalf of their child was very heartwarming,” she recalled. “This was an amazing, once in a lifetime experience. I had been to a
game when I was younger, but this time knowing I was there for a reason, a good reason, made it all that much more special.”

The Texans recognized Williams during a game at Reliant Stadium on August 20. She received four sideline tickets, a Texans jersey, and an invitation to the Texans and FCCU banquet at the end of the season. Additionally, a Texans player will visit Williams and her classroom this fall.

“She is awesome! For her to care the way she does for these kids, you can tell it’s not just a job for her but rather it’s her passion,” expressed Mrs. Charo, who jumped at the opportunity to nominate Williams for
the award. “I can’t say enough about Ms. Williams and her outstanding staff. As a mom of a kid with special needs, it is such a relief to know I can trust her and the school to take care of my son.”

Schindewolf Principal Debbie Hamilton could not agree more.

“We are thrilled that Ms. Williams has been recognized formthe outstanding work she is doing in the classroom,” said Hamilton. “We are as equally pleased to see that our community and parents are taking notice of the good things happening on our campuses every single day.”

For Williams, working in Klein ISD is a family affair. Not only did she attend school here, but also both parents work in the district. She attributes her passion to teach to both her family and coworkers.

“I get to come to work every day with such a great support system,” said Williams. “Being here, teaching these kids, and seeing the smile on their faces is a dream come true.”

Leave a Reply

